Log in
Snape Wood Primary and Nursery School
Excellence for All
Home Page

EYFS Curriculum




             The Curriculum in the Early Years Foundation Stage


The Foundation Stage Curriculum, working towards the Early Learning Goals, is taught to all of our pupils between the ages of 3 and 5.

This includes both our Nursery and Reception children.
The curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning. These are split into three prime areas and four specific areas.


The prime areas of learning are:

                    Communication and language

                     Physical development

                    Personal, social and emotional development


The specific areas of learning are:



                   Understanding the world

                    Expressive arts and design


Foundation stage children access the curriculum through a wide range of indoor and outdoor activities, the latter being provided in our secure outdoor area. In addition we have a covered outdoor area which allows children to work and play outdoors safely and comfortably in a variety of weather conditions.


By the end of the Foundation Stage your child will be expected to have achieved a set of early learning goals in each of the seven areas of learning. Staff regularly observe pupils at work and at play to assess their progress towards these using an online learning journal app called Tapestry.


For more information on Tapestry click here: 


Click on the link above to log in and see your child’s Tapestry profile (Buds, Blossoms and Acorns only).